Classification of Thermodynamic Processes

Classification of Thermodynamic Processes:

There are several specific types of thermodynamic processes that happens frequently enough in practical situations that they are commonly deals in the study of thermodynamics. Generally all the thermodynamic processes are classified into the following two groups:
  • Non- Flow Processes
  • Flow Processes

Non Flow Processes:
The processes occurring in a closed systems which do not permits the transfer of mass across their boundaries, are known as non flow processes. It may be noted that, in a non flow processes, the energy crosses the system in the form of heat and work, but there is no mass flow into or out of the system.  

Types of non-flow processes:
  • Reversible Non-flow process:
                    (i) Isochoric Process (Constant Volume Process)
                    (ii) Isobaric Process (Constant Pressure Process)
                    (iii) Isothermal Process (Constant Temperature Process)
                    (iv) Adiabatic Process (Isentropic Process)
  • Irreversible Non-flow process:
                    (i) Free Expansion Process

Flow Process:

The processes occurring in a open systems which permits the transfer of mass to and from the system, are known as flow processes. It may be noted that, in a flow processes, the mass enters the system and leaves after enhancing energy. The flow process may be steady flow and non-steady flow processes.

The common examples of steady flow processes are flow through nozzles, turbines, compressors etc. and the common examples of non-steady flow processes are filling or evacuation of vessels.  

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts